HELLO

What up sports world!

What I plan to do with my inaugural sports blog post is to give you a basic background on myself, disclose my favorite sports teams and players, and talk about my tentative plan for my blog.

My name’s Damon Turbitt and I hail from the great state of New Hampshire(It’s where Adam Sandler is from for those who have never heard of it) and I am 19 years old. New Hampshire is still my home, however I am going to school in Boston. I am a freshman journalism major at Emerson College. My dream is to become either a sports broadcaster, analyst, or writer for a major network, and I plan on getting there someday. I have two brothers; Holden, who is 20, and Nate, who is 22. I am also taken care of by my wonderful mother, Denise. I am a sports fanatic, a dog lover, and I possess every other positive manly quality that there is. There. Out of the way.

Before I elaborate on my favorite sports teams, I will say that I encourage all to share with me your feelings about my teams. Whether you hate them or love them, I will defend them like prized possessions. Debating sports is a passion of mine along with reporting, so feel free to comment!

My four favorite professional sports teams(in no particular order) are the Pittsburgh Steelers, the Los Angeles Lakers, the Boston Red Sox, and the Boston Bruins. As far as college sports go, I only follow football and basketball. My favorite college football team is Notre Dame and my favorite college basketball team is Duke. The question that I am asked goes something like, “Why do you like these teams? You’re from New Hampshire, right?”. Yes, yes I am. I can’t stand the belief that you must support all of the local sports teams. Well, anyway…why do I like these sports teams? I honestly do not know. I have been fascinated with these teams since I was a kid, and I have never been able to trace back far enough to find the source of my fandom. 

I do have an answer for my favorite sports players though, and I will start with my favorite players that are currently active in their respective sports. My favorite players of all-time may come in a later post.

Kobe Bean Bryant- My favorite athlete of all time. He is one of the most, if not the most, dedicated athletes ever. Also, he is among the most fierce in terms of competing. The man is a beast. He plays for the Lakers, so that obviously helps, but I admire his drive and love for the game so much that I would like him even if he was a Celtic. In my opinion, he is up for comparison with Jordan. I never got to see Jordan in his prime, so it is not fair for me to choose one over the other, but Bryant definitely deserves to be mentioned in the same conversation.

Ben Roethlisberger- He is one of the toughest players of my generation and in my opinion he is the toughest quarterback in the NFL today. His ability to extend plays never allows me to give up, and being that he plays for my favorite team, it makes me that much more excited to watch the Steelers play. He has brought 2 Super Bowls to the Steel City, and no matter what has been said about his antics off of the field, I will always remember him for what he has done on the field.

David Ortiz- Except for Yankee fans, nobody has a right to hate this guy. He has been one of the best players in the MLB over the last 10 years, and he is possibly the most clutch to go along with that distinction. He made an entire region believe in a team that had constantly let down its fan base for almost an entire century, and luckily for me I was able to get to experience both titles as a New Englandah. Above all, he is a great guy. Big Papi is one of the best personalities in the game and he should be remembered for that as much as he will be for all of his other accolades. 

Now that that’s finished; what is going to be the purpose/angle/basis of this blog? Well, that is a great question. I know that I will begin by blogging about some of the major stories in sports and giving my opinion on them. As I get more blog-inclined, I will attempt to post my own stories on here. I will try to cover small sports events and take pictures and interviews. For now though, it will just be my take on some of the biggest stories in sports, with some posts about my teams and their success/struggles sprinkled in.

Although this is only my first blog, I must say that this is pretty fun! I will try to post as often as possible. The goal is to post daily, but that will probably not work out because I am a busy college kid. That’s all I have for now though, so follow me! You won’t regret it.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “HELLO

  1. Well done my friend. I actually read blogs all the time and am genuinely impressed with your first one. I’ve officially subscribed to you and look forward to what’s to come!

Leave a Reply

